

History

The QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup began its colourful life in Dublin, Ireland in 1965, when just 20 countries competed in the men only tournament and a young dental technician from Finland, Lauri Ajanto, became the first person ever to hold the trophy. Next stop was 1966 where London was still bathing in the glory of winning the soccer World Cup. Fittingly the event was held in the Wembley Stadium Bowl and such was the importance of bowling that Bobby Moore, captain of the winning football team, presented the trophy to the winner, John Wilcox of the USA. On to the elegant Bowling de Paris set in the wonderful Bois de Boulogne. 29 nations competed and again the trophy went again to an American, Jack Connaughton. Fears that the USA might go on to dominate were dissipated when the event crossed the Atlantic for the first time to Guadalajara, Mexico. From a field of 35, Fritz Blum of West Germany came through to win.

And so the tournament grew and in 1972, in Hamburg, West Germany, women competed for the first time. Irma Urrea of Mexico was the first female winner and still holds the record for being the oldest champion – 45 at the time. Our male winner in 1987 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, was Remo Fornesari of Italy, at 51 our oldest male winner ever and still the only Italian to carry off the title.

It was in Tehran in 1976 that the bowling world saw the first victory by a young Paeng Nepomoceno of the Philippines. Just 19 at the time, Paeng was to go on to win again in 1980 in Jakarta, Indonesia, in 1992 in Le Mans, France and in 1996 in Belfast, Northern Ireland and his World Cup feat became immortalised in the Guinness Book of Records.

In 1994, when the event was staged in Hermosillo, Mexico the milestone record of 50 participating nations was broken and the World Cup saw its first 300 game bowled by Canadian Jack Guay.



Bowling history was created when the 33rd Bowling World Cup stepladder finals were staged in an open, outdoor arena in the desert, lying in the shadow of the Great Pyramid and Sphinx on the edge of Cairo. Egyptian President Mubarak opened the games and Omar Sharif was the Master of Ceremonies!

For the millennium year, the World Cup travelled to Lisbon, Portugal, where Bowling Internaçional de Lisboa

hosted the event in their state-of-the-art 30 lane bowling centre – the largest in Portugal.

2002 saw the World Cup visit Eastern Europe for the first time, in Riga, Latvia. A first for many World Cup bowlers and guests came when snow turned the beautiful Old City of Riga into a picture postcard.

It had been more than 30 years since the World Cup was held in Singapore and the return in 2004 for the 30th edition saw a record number of 95 nations participate.



The 2011 Bowling World Cup went back to the Rainbow Nation of South Africa, where Aumi Guerra of the Dominican Republic successfully defended her title and the men's title going to Jason Belmonte of Australia. Jason is the first Australian man to take the trophy, although their women have won five times. Jason went on to become a professional bowler and is now ranked as No. 1 in the world.

2012 and again in 2014 for the 50th edition saw the tournament being staged in Poland. Special guest, Lech Walesa, presented the winners with their trophies.